I was Served Breakfast at NYSC Camp… 5 lessons

Yo!…how are you today?

You know I enjoy this storytelling thingy and it is my wish to tell you profound stories every day but somehow, life keeps happening.
But, today, you are in for a ride cause I’m spilling it all.

Let’s go!
For what it was, I was served proper breakfast at the NYSC Camp.

Just in case you are not familiar with what NYSC entails, I tried to explain a little in my last post (Which is still a bang).

Yeah, NYSC is an acronym for National Youth Service Corps and it’s purely a Nigerian thing. A program designed to allow graduates to serve the country compulsorily for a year.

So yeah, my breakfast story.
From afar, NYSC and the camp thing is projected like it’s all fun and vibes up until the ball was passed to my court and all I got was breakfast.

Yeah, the heartbreak and disappointment. It was hot for me at first, but I dealt with it.

I wish this was a vlog so I could go on and on cause there is just so much to spill, but since it’s still a blog, I will just go right into my five big discoveries.

Honestly, most of them came as a shock!

1. Things will not always work your way

This was the first disclaimer I got in camp.
Don’t worry, all things work together for your good, but just know that they may not always follow the exact way you’ve planned them.

The common advice given to people that are about to go camping is to join OBS (Orientation broadcasting service) while in camp.

Hmmm, good advice, cause being a part of that team will save you from some unnecessary stress but what happens when you are unable to join?

Before I came to the camp, I already made up my mind that I was going to be a part of the team, I mean when it comes to talking and storytelling, nobody does it better.

I reported to camp on the second day, arrived late and couldn’t even register till the next day.

So, after three days, I picked my OBS ambition from where I had kept it.
I got to the studio and I told them I was interested in joining the team, the young man sitting didn’t even bother to look at me, he said I should read the instruction posted on the wall.

Not to beat around the forest, they said they were only taking 10 people and those interested should review the story pasted and write a news story from it.

I didn’t give up oh, you know we are not of them that give up easily…🤣
Even though I had never written a news story in my life, I decided to go for it.

I contacted my darling friend, who is the overall best in writing news content and she helped me put my news together perfectly.

I made sure I submitted it that day and when the corps members there read the story, they were super impressed and asked me to come back cause the person in charge was not available.

You already know that I didn’t get in.
The man didn’t call me and the guys advised that I go about stalking him maybe it was an oversight.

I didn’t take their advice, I decided to forfeit the entire thing because I was angry. Oversight how?

Another big reason why I wanted to be a part of the team was to get a good posting after the three weeks camp and I heard the Holy Spirit say “You will get a good place with or without being in this team”, so with that, I went to rest and I got a great place at the end of the day.

My candid advice, trust God with your motives. My motive for wanting to join was to get a good place, I could have just prayed for that, instead of working myself up.

For someone yet to go camping, you can join OBS but there are also other teams like the band, Red Cross, and sanitation, just so you don’t waste your time on one.
And I must mention that corps members that successfully join that team go about feeling like they are the best thing after Jollof rice. LOL.

If you think I’m beefing you that’s your business, but maybe I am. I mean your pride back there in camp was taller than you.😏

2. Age never truly means wisdom or maturity

From this side of the world, there is so much placed on age and respect which is very crucial, and I get it.

But when I got to camp, I realised that people don’t mature because they keep growing older by the day. I learnt that maturity takes the deliberate effort of working on yourself.

Phewww!
I met people.
I met adults who could throw away everything called manners and decorum in them just to fight over peanuts and throw tantrums at every given chance.

In all, I learnt that you can’t say that someone is mature by merely judging from how old they are because some young people have developed and are continuously in the process of becoming the best version of themselves.

3. You make time for what matters most to you

Ahhh you see that “there is no time” line. It’s a big scam.
No matter how little, you make time for what you value.
You see, amidst the hustle and bustle of the camp which included getting up very early and being choked with several activities during the day, I still had time to talk to God, man, and men. 🤣🤣🤣……………..take time to explain this part to yourself!

Initially, it was a struggle honestly, because that was not my comfort zone, but with time, I gradually found something that worked well for me.

So, no matter how busy life gets, as long as you still get to sleep, eat and touch your phone, you can still make time for God if He matters to you.

4. Your mind is more powerful than you give it credit for

Goshhhh!
This was a big deal for me.
The way the mind works is uniquely amazing. It doesn’t seek permission from you to take in things subconsciously, but it is required of you to guard and renew it consciously.

While in camp, you get to listen to all manners of songs whether they are your kind of song or not. I’m drawn to music. I adore music because it gets me hyper.

One day, I was walking down the field with a friend and all of a sudden I just started singing and dancing. You don’t even want to know what song I was singing.

For about 10 seconds, I didn’t even realise what was going on and my friend was just laughing behind me till the reality hit me hard. I wanted to scream…


How did that song get into my mouth and when did I even listen for the lyrics.
You get it right? 🤣🤣

In the same vein, you can channel your mind to do things you have never done in the past and you will be surprised at how good you would perform.

I also did a little stretching cause while in camp I took up tasks that I never tried cause as they say there is always a first time.

Before you keep stalling cause what you are about to do is new, I want you to know that your mind can birth anything you set it to.

5. You can’t exactly kill yourself

Ok, you can but you shouldn’t.
In Nigerian parlance, we say “I cannot come and kill myself”.

In as much as I tried to do so many things that were not comfortable, I also understood that there is a need to have balance in life. You don’t need to be always hard on yourself at all times.

There was a time I fell a little ill while in camp and I was meant to also join in the parade.

At that point, I knew that my life was more important and I don’t have some spare parts locked in a room waiting to be switched for an upgrade, even though my Jesus is a miracle worker, He also wants me to rest.

Here is Photizolife is advising you to take better care of yourself.

Put in the work always and do it excellently but never joke with your rest. You need it to keep being at the top 1%of your game.

I have so many other things to say to you, but you can’t bear them now🤣🤣🤣
ok, I’m just kidding there.

In all, I must mention that I enjoyed many activities while in camp, and that specific breakfast that was in your heart before you clicked here was not part of them.😉

And this one has to count as the longest I have ever written to you.

THANK YOU FOR READING THROUGH!

I hope you picked a few of these lessons.

For more Premium content like this, click this Link to follow me on Instagram, cause there is so much planned for that space and you need to be a part of it.

If you have any experience with NYSC camp, tell me about it in the comment section below. I want to hear how it went down.

Please, also like and share this post.

Photizolife is always happy to reach more people with Light.
I love you and Jesus loves you more.❤

Till next time!

7 thoughts on “I was Served Breakfast at NYSC Camp… 5 lessons

  1. Great piece! This reminds me of how I went to camp and did everything under the sun, and I mean everything, from commanding parade to OBS to doing cultural dance and drama to being in a unit in NCCF😂 because I wanted a good PPA. God still dealt with me the way He wanted sha😂. I could have saved myself stress by just following His voice instead of trying to sort things out myself. In retrospect, it was fun doing all those things sha. Thank you for this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment